top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Penhouse

Getting artsy at Arteastiq

Located in Plaza Singapura, this establishment is not only a place that serves food and beverages, but also has an art jamming studio.


13 Feb, 2020

By Victoria Lum


Arteastiq is a posh western boutique tea house that also houses an art jamming studio. In addition to food and beverages, they offer art jamming sessions in the studio situated next to the dining area.


In case you are wondering what exactly is art jamming, it is a lifestyle activity where people come together to do canvas painting.


Doing art can be therapeutic. To take a break from a hectic week, I decided to go to Arteastiq to experience art jamming for the first time. Three days before I went, I called Arteastiq to make a reservation. They have three sessions available daily: 11am to 2pm, 2:30pm to 5:30pm, and 6pm to 9pm. Each session is priced at $48, inclusive of a free beverage from the tea house. However, there is also a variety of weekday promotions, such as student price at $28, or a 1-for-1 deal on Mondays.


Upon my arrival, I was shown to a cosy little studio that had a black colour theme. The walls and floor were fully black, covered with paint stains of every colour. Easels and stools were lined up closely, filling the space. It felt like stepping into a true artist’s sanctuary. The lighting was a dim yellow, giving off a warm, homely vibe. Jazz music played in the background, creating a relaxed atmosphere that was perfect for unwinding and letting my creative juices flow.


“This is my first time here, I’m not really an art person, but actually I kind of enjoy coming here… it’s a very comfortable space to do whatever you want to do,” said Miss Tang Jun Mei Shanice, 19, student.

Aprons, serviettes, disposable palettes, paintbrushes, and a bucket of water are provided. The studio is also equipped with a sink. The disposable palettes make cleaning up after the session convenient and fuss-free. Despite the easel being covered in paint stains as well, the stools and aprons are clean. The acrylic paint that is provided comes in a wide range of colours. I was entitled to unlimited usage of the paint too. Overall, the studio is well-equipped.


Miss Tang initially felt that the price was a little too expensive, but in the end she thought that for all the amenities provided, it was “worth it”. She said that if she were to go to an art supplies store to purchase the same equipment to do art at home, it would have cost way more.


Three hours flew by in the blink of an eye, and before I knew it, I had to extend my session by an hour for $5 as I was not finished with my artwork yet. Once I was done, the staff put my artwork in a cardboard carrier that had handles, making it easy for me to take home my artwork.


An area of improvement I would suggest is to space out the easels and stools, and have a shelf or corner to place bags. This would make the area more spacious and comfortable.


According to CNA, a survey by the National Arts Council in 2017 revealed that there was an increase in interest levels in the arts, with 37 per cent of respondents expressing an interest in the arts. Students aged 15 to 24 displayed the highest level of interest in the arts.


Arteastiq is definitely one place that can cater to people who are becoming more interested in the arts, by letting them have the means to express their creativity.


“I would come back here again, because, I don’t know, it just… it gives off a very fun vibe,” said Miss Tang. “You can come here with your friends, or if you prefer being alone also can. I feel like this place just caters to anyone,” she added.

Similarly, I had a pleasant experience that enabled me to de-stress, and I will come back to Arteastiq whenever I feel like painting something in the future.


Each art session provides a 50 by 50 cm canvas and a set of brand new paintbrushes, which you can bring home. Photo by: Victoria Lum


Sunset Sailing, painted by Miss Tang. Photo by: Victoria Lum

17 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page